Trophy Case

Leonard M. Fowle Trophy

Click to enlarge

The Fowle Trophy honors the late Graduate Secretary of the New England District and Executive Vice President of the ICYRA/NA.  Len served in both posts from their creation until his death in 1973 and his devotion to college sailing is without peer. College sailing today had its very beginnings in the organizational ability and personal drive of this one man.

This trophy is awarded to the team of the College or University with the greatest number of Fowle Trophy Points.

The points are determined using the composite results of the Women’s Singlehanded, Men’s Singlehanded, Intermediate Match Race, Women's Dinghy Semifinals/Finals, Team Race, and Coed Dinghy Semifinals/Final Championship Regattas.  Each team shall receive points toward the Fowle Trophy Award based on its finishing place in each of the events in the composite. Except that only the best finishing place in the Women’s Singlehanded and Men’s Singlehanded Championships shall be used to determine the points for each school in those events.


2018 College of Charleston
2017 College of Charleston
2016 Yale University
2015 College of Charleston
2014 Yale University
2013 Yale University
2012 College of Charleston
2011 Boston College
2010 Boston College
2009 Yale University
2008 Boston College
2007 College of Charleston
2006 Georgetown University
2005 Harvard University
2004 Harvard University
2003 Harvard University
2002 Harvard University
2001 Harvard University
2000 St. Mary's College of Maryland
1999 Tufts University
1998 College of Charleston
1997 U.S. Naval Academy
1996 Tufts University
1995 Tufts University
1994 Tufts University
1993 Tufts University
1992 U.S. Naval Academy
1991 Brown University
1990 Old Dominion University
1989 Old Dominion University
1988 College of Charleston
1987 U.S. Naval Academy
1986 College of Charleston
1985 Boston University
1984 Tufts University
1983 U.S. Naval Academy
1982 U.S. Naval Academy
1981 U.S. Naval Academy
1980 U.S. Naval Academy
1979 U.S. Naval Academy
1978 U.S. Naval Academy
1977 U.S. Naval Academy
1976 Tufts University
1975 Tufts University
1974 Tulane University
1973 State University of New York, Maritime College
1972 State University of New York, Maritime College